Brockway Prize awarded to Ard Posthuma

The Brockway Prize has been awarded to Ard Posthuma for his Dutch-German translations of the poetry collections ‘Licht overal’ (Licht überall) and ‘Zo kon het zijn’ (So könnte es sein) by Cees Nooteboom. The prize will be presented on Friday, 12 June during the Poetry International Festival in Rotterdam.


The Brockway Prize is a biennial award for poetry translations from Dutch. The prize was established by the Dutch Foundation for Literature and is worth 5.000 euro. Previously, the Brockway Prize has been awarded to Francis R. Jones (2005; English), Gregor Seferens (2007; German), Jan H. Mysjkin and Pierre Gallissaires (2009; French), Francisco Carrasquer Launed (2011; Spanish) and Judith Wilkinson (2013; English).


Literary translator Ard Posthuma (b. 1942) attended universities in Lausanne, Munich and Basel before beginning a career as editor and lecturer. Since 1989 he has translated a considerable amount of Dutch, Frisian and Flemish poetry into German, with publications including anthologies of the work of Martinus Nijhoff, Cees Nooteboom, Gerrit Kouwenaar and Leonard Nolens.


The 2015 Brockway Prize jury was made up of literary translator Gregor Seferens and publisher Christoph Buchwald, supported by Peter Bergsma, translator and director of the Translators’ House Amsterdam. From the jury report: ‘His translations demonstrate that he has an excellent grounding in both the Dutch and the German poetic tradition,’ the jury writes, and ‘although this may at first seem a contradiction, he continually takes the freedom to remain as close as possible to the spirit of the original poetry, knowing exactly how far he can go. In this sense Posthuma shows himself to be a great craftsman and an outstanding mediator between the two languages.’


>Press Release Dutch Foundation for Literature...


published on: 2015-06-11

Previous Next Print Forward